Over the years the MCC Chapter has won many prestigious awards recognizing the dedication and hard work of an amazing group of women. 

2019: Brigitte Martineau as President

  • 2019 Chapter of the Year
  • Under 40: Rebecca Griffin from Hospitality Management and Meryll Pentz from Admissions.

2018: Brigitte Martineau as President

  • 40 Under 40: Krista Tyner, Becky Babcock and Sally Dingee

2017: Julie Slate as President

  • 2017 Chapter of the Year

2016: Julie Slate as President

  • 2016 Model Program of the Year: Foodlink Program
  • 40 under 40: Courtney Sprague and Aubrey Zamiara

2015: Toni Custodio as President

  • Model Program for the Women’s Right’s National Historic Park Bus Tour

2013: Julianna Frisch as President

  • Digital Media Program Award

2005: Valarie Avalone as President

  • 2005 Chapter of the Year Award


The AAWCC Region I Scholarship recognizes one student from Region I (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania) for their academic achievement, contribution or impact on women’s issues in their community and financial need.

AAWCC Congratulates 2018 Regional Scholarship Winner
Yeabsira Abebe

The American Association of Women in Community Colleges MCC Chapter would like to congratulate Yeabsira Abebe on receiving the 2018 Region 1 scholarship! A native of Ethiopia, Yeabsira is a liberal arts and sciences (health) major who is interested in a career in diagnostic sonography.  She maintains a 3.92 GPA while working part-time. Yeabsira is passionate about social matters concerning gender, ethnic and human rights issues. Congratulations, Yeabsira AAWCC-MCC Chapter celebrates your success!

  • AAWCC 2016 Regional Scholarship Winner:
    Keilanne Guzman, Early Childhood Education major at MCC
  • AAWCC 2015 Regional Scholarship Winner:
    Yuliana Poplavaskiy, Liberal Arts Health major at MCC
  • AAWCC 2014 Regional Scholarship Winner:
    Julissa Gonzalez, Human Services Major at MCC
  • AAWCC 2013 Regional Scholarship Winner:
    Suzanne Fava, Public Relations Major at MCC
  • AAWCC 2012 Regional Scholarship Winner:
    Tamika Jackson, Liberal Arts Major at MCC