Chapter & National History

How the MCC Chapter Began

At a National Council of Resource Development (NCRD) meeting in November 1992. Brenda Babitz was approached about starting an AAWCC Chapter at Monroe Community College. In May 1993, she was elected to the national board as the Region II Coordinator. Eight members from MCC were invited to a kickoff meeting held in June. Ten national members from MCC were needed to start the chapter. Brenda invited others to participate and continued in the national board for three years.

Approximately 80 women were invited to a second meeting in August. At this meeting, the by-laws were approved and the committee chairs and officers were appointed.

The original members of the Monroe Community College chapter of AAWCC were: Carol Adams, Brenda Babitz, Judith Bulin, Charlotte Downing, Barbara Gellman-Danley, Janet Glocker, Judy Hall, Ann Penwarden, Susan Salvador, Peter A. Spina, and Pam Weidel. The Chapter will celebrate its 25th anniversary in 2018.

How the National Chapter Began

The American Association of Women in Community and Junior Colleges (AAWCJC) was founded in 1973 by women from Arizona, California, Oregon, and Washington who attended a seminar entitled “Woman: Her Challenge to the Community College” at the City College of San Francisco. Deciding that a national organization was needed that would focus on the specific concerns of the growing number of women either employed or enrolled in two-year institutions, the group widened its membership base and was accepted as a council of AACJC in 1974. That year, AAWCJC presented its first forum on women in non-traditional career programs at the AACJC Annual Conference and has continued to address issues of special interest to women each year.

Over its long history, AAWCJC served both its members and other women in community colleges. During 1993, the name was changed to American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) which represents the majority of members.

Here is a list of all of our past presidents since the creation of our Chapter: 

2019 – 2021: Mary Mendez-Rizzo
2017 – 2019: Brigitte Martineau
2015 – 2017: Julie Slate
2013 – 2015: Toni Custodio
2010 – 2013: Julianna Frisch
2009 – 2010: Vilma Morrow
2007 – 2009: Barbara Smithgall
2005 – 2007: Kelly Bennett
2003 – 2005: Valarie Avalone
2001 – 2003: Michelle Fisk
1999 – 2001: Michele Deagman-Reed
1997 – 1999: Susan Baker
1995 – 1997: Susan Salvador
1994 – 1995: Pam Weidel
1993 – 1994: Brenda Babitz